Illuminator Night Trail Race

Go wild through the night on Scotland’s toughest night trail race!

Run the established Illuminator ... 15 dark miles over rugged hill & forest trails - or choose from our NEW 8KM and 15KM routes, with just the glow of your head torch to lead the way. Experience the natural beauty of Glen Tanar in a spectacular new light.


  • Runners: Choose any of the 3 routes to race hard for the win, compete with others or just jog round with friends
  • Walkers: Choose between either of the two shorter routes. Walk with friends or go solo - NB runners only on the 15 mile route

  • Amazing location: the venue Glen Tanar is a National Nature Reserve and part of the spectacular Cairngorms National Park
  • Complete darkness: apart from your head torch and the light zone & reflectives en route
  • Race timing: electronic chip timing for all

  • Eco medals: turn your wooden memento coaster into a jute ribbon eco medal ... if you want!

Entry Options

15 Mile Route - Team entry

Price rise 20/10/2019

15 Mile Route - Individual Entry

Price rise 20/10/2019

15 KM Route - Team entry

Price rise 20/10/2019

15 KM Route - Individual Entry

Price rise 20/10/2019

8KM Route - Team entry

Price rise 20/10/2019

8KM Route - Individual Entry

Price rise 20/10/2019


Unfortunately we are not able to offer refunds or payment by instalments. 

But if you're injured or can't make it to the Illuminator, all is not lost: you can use the "Transfer" function in your Race Space account to arrange for a friend to take your entry, or you can defer your entry for one year. 

We do not accept swaps or deferrals in the last week before the event.


  • You may trade your entry for a Transfer Credit FREE of cost until 20/10/2019.
  • You will have 12 months (from the date of the event) to spend your Transfer Credit. You may also use your Transfer Credit to enter someone else.
  • Click here for more info on Transfers.

You can manage your entries in the section of your Racer Dashboard.

Discussion Board

Only registered users can leave comments

384 racers
Michelle Slater Denis Nicol Erin Kermath Susan Thomson Nicola Fraser Kirsteen Smart Stuart Christie Gillian Thomson Varun Rao Paul Sykes Tom Davies Lisa Wood Lucy Mckenna Janine Jones Aimee Vaughan Caroline Scott James Barfoot Michael Walker Linzi Bell Richard McRae